The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    Vincennes University
   
 
  Jan 18, 2018
 
 
    
2016-2017 Vincennes University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendars



Fall Semester 2016

First day of Faculty Contracts Monday, August 15
New Faculty/Professional Staff Meeting Monday, Tuesday, August 15, 16
Opening University Meeting Wednesday, August 17
START VU, Late Registration Thursday, August 18
New Student Orientation begins Friday, August 19
Classes begin Monday, August 22
Drop and Add Monday-Friday, August 22-26
Labor Day (No classes - University closed) Monday, September 5
Last day for students to withdraw from first 8-week courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, September 23
Midterm Examinations Monday-Friday, October 10-14
Midterm Break (No classes) Monday, Tuesday, October 17, 18
Classes resume Wednesday, October 19
Begin Advising and Registration for Spring Monday, October 24
Last day for students to withdraw without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, October 28
Graduation Application Deadline Friday, November 4
START VU, New Student Registration Saturday, November 12
Last day for students to withdraw from second 8-week courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, November 18
Thanksgiving Break (No classes) Wednesday-Sunday, November 23-27
Classes resume Monday, November 28
Last day for faculty to withdraw students for non-attendance Friday, December 2
Midyear Commencement (Vincennes Campus) Saturday, December 10
Final Examinations Monday-Friday, December 12-16
Fall Semester ends after last final exam Friday, December 16

Spring Semester 2017

First day of Faculty Contracts for Spring Tuesday, January 3
START VU, New Student Registration Friday, January 6
Late Registration Friday, January 6
Classes begin Monday, January 9
Drop and Add Monday-Friday, January 9-13
Martin Luther King Day (No classes - University closed) Monday, January 16
Last day for students to withdraw from first 8-week courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, February 10
Midterm Examinations Monday-Friday, February 27-March 3
Midterm Break (No classes) Monday-Sunday, March 6-12
Classes resume Monday, March 13
Begin Advising and Registration for Fall and Summer Monday, March 13
Last day for students to withdraw without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, March 24
Graduation Application Deadline Friday, March 24
Last day for students to withdraw from second 8-week courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Thursday, April 13
Good Friday (No classes - University closed) Friday, April 14
Last day for faculty to withdraw students for non-attendance Friday, April 21
Commencement (Vincennes Campus) Saturday, April 29
Final Examinations Tuesday-Friday, May 2-5
Commencement (American Sign Language - Indianapolis) Thursday, May 4
Commencement (Aviation Technology Center - Indianapolis) Friday, May 5
Spring Semester ends after last final exam Friday, May 5
Commencement (Jasper Campus) Saturday, May 6
Last day of Faculty Contracts Friday, May 12

Summer Semester 2017

Intersession begins Monday, May 8
Intersession ends Friday, May 26
Memorial Day (No classes - University closed) Monday, May 29
Registration for Summer I and 10-week classes Tuesday, May 30
Summer I and 10-week classes begin Tuesday, May 30
8 Week classes begin Monday, June 5
Last day for students to withdraw from Summer I courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, June 23
Summer I ends after last class Friday, June 30
Independence Day (No classes - University closed) Tuesday, July 4
Registration for Summer II Wednesday, July 5
Summer II classes begin Wednesday, July 5
8 Week classes end Friday, July 27
Last day for students to withdraw from Summer II courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Monday, July 31
Summer II and 10 Week classes end Tuesday, August 8

New Student Advising and Registration for Fall Semester 2017

Advising for Incoming Freshmen June 12-August 17

Fall Semester 2017

First day of Faculty Contracts Monday, August 14
New Faculty/Professional Staff Meeting Monday, Tuesday, August 14, 15
Opening University Meeting Wednesday, August 16
START VU, Late Registration Thursday, August 17
New Student Orientation begins Friday, August 18
Classes begin Monday, August 21
Drop and Add Monday-Friday, August 21-25
Labor Day (No classes - University closed) Monday, September 4
Last day for students to withdraw from first 8-week courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, September 22
Midterm Examinations Monday-Friday, October 9-13
Midterm Break (No classes) Monday, Tuesday, October 16, 17
Classes resume Wednesday, October 18
Begin Advising and Registration for Spring Monday, October 23
Last day for students to withdraw without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, October 27
Graduation Application Deadline Friday, October 27
START VU, New Student Registration Saturday, November 11
Last day for students to withdraw from second 8-week courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, November 17
Thanksgiving Break (No classes) Wednesday-Sunday, November 22-26
Last day for faculty to withdraw students for non-attendance Tuesday, November 21
Classes resume Monday, November 27
Midyear Commencement (Vincennes Campus) Saturday, December 9
Final Examinations Monday-Friday, December 11-15
Fall Semester ends after last final exam Friday, December 15

Spring Semester 2018

First day of Faculty Contracts for Spring Tuesday, January 2
START VU, New Student Registration Friday, January 5
Late Registration Friday, January 5
Classes begin 8 a.m. Monday, January 8
Drop and Add Monday-Friday, January 8-12
Martin Luther King Day (No classes - University closed) Monday, January 15
Last day for students to withdraw from first 8-week courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, February 9
Midterm Examinations Monday-Friday, February 26-March 2
Midterm Break (No classes) Monday-Sunday, March 5-11
Classes resume Monday, March 12
Begin Advising and Registration for Fall and Summer Monday, March 12
Last day for students to withdraw without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, March 23
Graduation Application Deadline Friday, March 23
Good Friday (No classes - University closed) Friday, March 30
Last day for students to withdraw from second 8-week courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, April 13
Last day for faculty to withdraw students for non-attendance Friday, April 20
Commencement (Vincennes Campus) Saturday, April 28
Final Examinations Tuesday-Friday, May 1-4
Commencement (American Sign Language - Indianapolis) Thursday, May 3
Commencement (Aviation Technology Center - Indianapolis) Friday, May 4
Commencement (Jasper Campus) Saturday, May 5
Spring Semester ends after last final exam Saturday, May 5
Last day of Faculty Contracts Friday, May 11

Summer Semester 2018

Intersession begins Monday, May 7
Memorial Day (No classes - University closed) Monday, May 28
Registration for Summer I and 10-week classes Tuesday, May 29
Summer I and 10-week classes begin Wednesday, May 30
8-week classes begin Monday, June 4
Last day for students to withdraw from Summer I courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Friday, June 22
Summer I ends after last class Tuesday, July 3
Independence Day (No classes - University closed) Wednesday, July 4
Registration for Summer II Thursday, July 5
Summer II classes begin Thursday, July 5
8-week classes end Thursday, July 26
Last day for students to withdraw from Summer II courses without appropriate college dean’s approval Monday, July 30
Summer II and 10-week Session ends after last class Wednesday, August 8

New Student Advising and Registration for Fall Semester 2018

Advising for Incoming Freshmen June 12, 2018 - August 16